NATIONAL PRAYER DAY IN AMERICA

 

“Religion, a belief system, is one of the most divisive in-group vs out-group-factors in the world. Sunday, in America, is the most segregated day of the week.

As one of the most out- spoken  non-believes on Kauai- I’m a secular humanists- I do not attend church.I do not have a religion. Or a god. Or bow my head in prayer.

This I know: we are all born  human beings. Therefor this human being sends to all human beings in the world- on National Prayer Day in America- peace and love and joy and happiness every day of your life.”

This is a copy of the letter I sent to the TGI Forum. It wasn’t published. Why?

It is stlll- in America and  around the world-considered bad form to criticize religion. Any religion. All religions. As Christopher Hedges would say, “There is an orthodoxy that renders religious criticism bad form.”

Think about religion-the three most powerful-no one is born a Jew, a Christian, a Muslim. One  is ‘created’ religious. “The religion  learned at your mother’s knee,” was often quoted by my husband’s mother, a devout Catholic. My husband was taught, from the cradle,  to believe the story. Catholics  must believe a child was born of a virgin and impregnated by god. Constantine’s Council of Nicea, AD 324 affirmed the deity of Jesus Christ and defined the relationship between the Father, the Son and the Holy Ghost,  his mother, the Virgin Mary, and Emperors became Popes.

Along with this belief  goes hell and Satan, heaven and Pearly Gates,  fear, guilt, sin and, eventually, the destruction of Pagan religions with their  temples and goddesses. Then, of course, come the Dark Ages, plagues, famines, witch burnings,  inquisitions, religious wars which can, arguably,  be placed at the feet of these events.

My husband, an alter boy, ‘escaped’ when a nun told him Abraham Lincoln couldn’t go to heaven. I escaped-I was raised as a protestant in a convent-when a nun told me animals couldn’t go to heaven; and a delightful friend, a Catholic Priest, Father O’Connell,  told me I was a free soul and sent me off, with his blessing, in that direction.

Forget, the personal involvement: the point is children are taught to believe lies. I repeat, to believe lies. Think about that. You could teach a child to believe in the Easter Bunny, and threaten it with eternal punishment if it did not believe. Believers believe lies. That’s what they’re taught to do.

Christ, in the New Testament preaches peace and love, but his Father-the god of the  Old Testament -preaches death. “Every one that is found shall be thrust through, and everyone that is joined unto them shall fall by the sword and shall be dashed to pieces before their eyes, their houses shall be spoiled and their wives ravished.” (Isaiah 13:15-17}

Believe what god says, do as god says-‘smite them’- or go to hell.

As a human being I will not follow or worship such a god. Maybe my letter embarrassed believers?

 

 

 

 

 

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

